The 13th Annual Bill Landers Building Bridges Memorial 5K will be held on Saturday, June 12, 2021 at 8:30 a.m. at Hubbard Green.

The race includes awards for individual age groups, a Youth Team Competition (team must consist of a minimum of 5 people ages 17 and under), an all ages Team Competition, and the School Spirit Competition

Parking is available at Glastonbury High School on Hubbard Street. 

RACE MAP: Click here to view a map of the certified course.

There is no rain date and there are no refunds for inclement weather.

Back by Popular Demand: Race bib pick-up will be available at soundRUNNER, 63 Hebron Ave., Glastonbury, from 2-6 p.m. on Friday, June 11.

Bill Landers 5K

The Bill Landers Building Bridges Memorial 5K Run/Walk is an annual event held in Glastonbury, Connecticut. The route begins at Hubbard Green and continues through the Buttonball neighborhood in Glastonbury. The race and course is certified and sanctioned by the USA Track & Field, and is a qualifying race for the Manchester Road Race.
The annual run/walk supports the Glastonbury Education Foundation’s ability to fund programs, projects and initiatives that elevate the educational experience of Glastonbury’s citizens, and The Bill Landers Memorial Scholarships. The Bill Landers Memorial Scholarships consist of two $1,000 scholarships awarded to a graduating male and a female student of Glastonbury High School. The recipients of the scholarships must be attending one of the schools in the Connecticut State University system, as Bill did.

About Bill Landers
Bill Landers was a member of the Board of Directors of the Glastonbury Education Foundation and a beloved member of the Glastonbury community, as well as the local running community. Bill passed away in September of 2008 after battling cancer. He played varsity soccer for Glastonbury High School and was a member of the GHS class of 1983. Bill was a lifelong fan and supporter of the athletic programs. He earned his college degree from Eastern Connecticut State University in 1987 and founded his own successful company, Xsellense, Inc. Bill was also a Hartwell youth soccer coach and remained an avid runner. Bill is survived by his wife, Dorie, and two children.


Glastonbury Elementary School Spirit Award

Participants must register for the run by midnight on Sunday, June 6th to participate in the School Spirit Award.
This award is given to the school that pre-registers (by midnight on June 6) the most 5K participants as a percentage of their student body population. The award consists of $250 for a school spirit activity and an engraved plaque.

2019 Winner: Buttonball Lane Elementary School
2018 Winner: Eastbury Elementary School
2017 Winner: Buttonball Lane Elementary School
2016 Winner: Buttonball Lane Elementary School
2015 Winner: Hebron Avenue Elementary School
2014 Winner: Hebron Avenue Elementary School
2013 Winner:  Hebron Avenue Elementary School
2012 Winner:  Hebron Avenue Elementary School

Scholarship Information

The Bill Landers Memorial Scholarship was established by the Glastonbury Education Foundation in 2009. It began as one $1,000 Scholarship and expanded to two $1,000 scholarships after the great success of the first Bill Landers Building Bridges Memorial 5K.
The scholarships are awarded to a graduating male and a female student who meet the following criteria:

  • Are above average students

  • Show financial need

  • Have committed to attending one of the Connecticut State University System Schools

The recipients are chosen by the GHS Guidance Department. Application forms are available in the Glastonbury High School guidance office in the spring. The scholarships are given at the Awards Night Ceremony in late May/early June.

Past Bill Landers Memorial Scholarship Recipients:
2020-Shannon Gellner and John Welsh
2019-Ashley Palomino and Kacey Rolfe
2018 – Olivia Mott and Rusul Alassal

2017 – Macayla Cody and Bishal Tamang

2016 – Vaishali Belamkar and Jason Bouchard

2015 – Tucker Hutchinson and Katherine Palomino

2014 – David Brunner and Kaitlyn Oberndorfer

2013 – Dustin Cooley and Briana Tucker

2012 – Rebecca Rubino and Spencer Chester

2011- Alexis Gokey and Anhor Salih

2010 – Lauren Fahey and Kenneth Waszynski

2009 – Chelsea Curreri